Cyclists aren’t allowed to ride on the footpath, you know.

Queenstown Rd

 

“CYCLISTS AREN’T ALLOWED TO RIDE ON THE FOOTPATH. IT’S ILLEGAL.”

To which I replied, “Yeah, I know that but sometimes I do it just to keep safe…”

“BUT CYCLISTS AREN’T ALLOWED TO RIDE ON THE FOOTPATH. IT’S ILLEGAL.”

To which I replied, “Yeah, I know but if I didn’t ride on the footpath occasionally, I would have to give up riding all together. And I do it slowly. And only when it’s absolutely necessary.”

“BUT CYCLISTS AREN’T ALLOWED TO RIDE ON THE FOOTPATH. IT’S ILLEGAL.”

T.W.I.R: “Don’t we need to take a broader view of the issue? I would have thought that we are natural allies. The real focus here should be cars, and how they are allocated so much space and liberty.”

“BUT CYCLISTS AREN’T ALLOWED TO RIDE ON THE FOOTPATH. IT’S ILLEGAL.”

I said, “Strange as it may seem, I don’t really see myself as a cyclist. I want people to think of me as more like a pedestrian on wheels. We may have more in common than you realise.”

“BUT CYCLISTS AREN’T ALLOWED TO RIDE ON THE FOOTPATH. IT’S ILLEGAL.”

“Is that the time…?”

‘Cycling’ is sport and recreation. ‘Riding a bicycle’ is everyday activity. No sweat.

Get involved via: Twitter, FacebookFlickrVine or Instagram.

 

6 comments

  1. It doesn’t even make sense as to why cyclists are on the road instead of the footpath anyway. A car is going to do more damage to a cyclist than a cyclist is going to do to a pedestrian.

    Like

  2. It is not practical or safe for cyclists to ride on the footpath. Cyclists need to be catered for by separated space on busy roads and intersections and slow and minimal traffic on residential roads. I advocate for riding on the footpath slowly when it feels that your safety will be compromised by riding on the road.

    Like

  3. I have had this exact same ‘conversation’. Everyone wants to be a bloody policeman in this country, except that the ‘real’ police don’t typically take such a narrow view, and will take into account that your actions were for safety reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You mean one of those 1 sided ‘conversations’. It is particularly galling when it is from a cyclist. “You’re bringing cycling into disrepute” is their point, I think. *sigh*

      Like

      1. Thanks for the link. It’s spot on. What concerns me is the seemingly ongoing passive acceptance of this situation. I expect more from the groups representing the interests of cycling. Is that too harsh?

        Like

What are your thoughts?

