Memories of cycling

 

BikeJapan

Cycling comes in a range of styles – sports, recreation and #wheeledpedestrian

He only knows I’m a cyclist because whenever I go into his shop I am carrying my helmet. There is no other evidence. When I went in the other day he was bursting to tell me about his successful circumnavigation of the Lake. Just once round, mind you. “Some people choose to do it twice!” he said.

I smiled. I was tempted to play dumb and ask why. But I already knew why. It’s fun. It’s social. And once those hormoney thingys kick in you feel compelled to do it again and again. Despite the pain and discomfort.

I circumnavigated a lake somewhere in New Zealand once. In my youth. With friends. Slowly. Over 4 days. It was cool. We took turns driving the ‘support vehicle’. We didn’t have tents. We slept in hay barns, under starry skies, beside the lake. It was a formative experience. I was awakened to hitherto unknown realities. The cycling was good too.

I’m glad I didn’t tell him that nowadays I’m just a #wheeledpedestrian. I am also glad that his story reminded me of what it was like to be a #cyclist. The recreational kind.

‘Cycling’ is sport and recreation. ‘Riding a bicycle’ is everyday activity. No sweat.

Get involved via: Twitter, FacebookFlickrVine or Instagram.

2 comments

  1. On our summer holiday my partner and relived the childhood pleasure of riding around in circles just for the fun of it.
    I grant you it was a larger circle than what I was able to achieve on my parents driveway (though being a circular driveway – with a bit of a slope, and an island, a footbridge, and a big fishpond you wouldn’t want to fall in – it was pretty good); this time we had a whole alpine village practically to ourselves (Dinner Plain, near Mt Hotham, Victoria, Australia, if you’re interested).
    It was so nice to ride around at dusk just because it was a fun way to pass time. Very few cars and no on-street parking made it feel so safe and pleasant. Pretty awesome, in fact.
    Such a shame to come back to the city and life where nearly everyone has a car clogging up the streets, confining their thoughts and impinging on everyone else’s safety.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

