Do you want to go for a bike ride?

There are lots of reasons to ride a bike

I use my bicycle whenever I can; as a substitute for the car. It serves a purpose. It’s great for short journeys. A to B. I dress for the destination, not for the bike ride. It probably keeps me fit. But fitness is not the reason I use my bicycle. Remember, “no sweat”. Using a bike is good for the environment. But that’s not my primary motivator, either. Cost is a big factor. We are a one car family. Keeping just one car on the road is a massive financial black hole. Being immune to the unpredictable traffic congestion prevalent in the city is also a pretty big factor. And there is a ‘feel good’ factor associated with transporting oneself by bike; that sense of freedom and independence. I caught the bug as a child and it never went away. The kids of today don’t know what they are missing.

‘Cycling’ is sport and recreation. ‘Riding a bicycle’ is everyday activity. No sweat. As easy as walking, but faster.

Get involved via: Twitter, FacebookFlickrVine or Instagram.

What are your thoughts?

